A Breath of Fresh Air

Standard

It’s February and my level of anxiety over parenting, politics, and possibilities had reached the point of sleeplessness.  It was time to take care of myself.  I drove for an hour to find my happy place.  At first, the drive itself made me anxious.  Should I really be driving so far away?  What if the school calls?  What if I’m late getting back to pick up the kids at school?

But, as soon as I left my shoes behind and my feet found the water, that all began to float away.  The water was SO cold, it made my feet numb.  img_0297

But, that didn’t stop these three surfers img_0308

from catching waves.img_0309

I ran, not for exercise, or time, or distance, but because it made me feel strong and free and young and happy.img_0310

I stopped to take pictures of the beauty that surrounded me.img_0315

And, then I stopped to take pictures of me, surrounded by all that beauty.img_0320

And, being here taking a picture in that icy cold water in February surrounded by all that beauty made me smile.img_0325

So, I took more pictures.  There were tide pools and patterns in the sand.img_0334

There were seashells for collecting.img_0337

And, interesting things that had washed up on the beach.img_0339

This “sea snake” was the size of a telephone pole.  I’ll bet it looked like the Loch Ness Monster floating in the sea.img_0341

It must have taken some very powerful waves to move it.  I wondered where it had been.img_0348

And, where will it go?  And, it made me think of where I’ve been and where I will go.img_0350

And, then the school called.  But they were just checking in.  One of my children had been having some anxiety, too.  But, is doing much better now.img_0352

So, I breathed.img_0353

And, I was grateful.img_0355

And, I took some more pictures.  Because, pictures make me happy and I can’t help it, especially when I see the sky reflected in water.img_0359

And, I saw things that reminded me of my three littles.img_0360

And, I thought how odd it was to be here taking pictures without them.  img_0361

But knew these pictures would bring me great joy when I got them home to edit them.img_0361

And share them.  img_0365

Because, sharing pictures brings me joy.img_0367

And, so, after all these yearsimg_0368

of wondering what my blog should be aboutimg_0369

I finally figured it out.img_0371

So, I will share my perspective and my journey through capturing what I see in the worldimg_0373

with whatever camera I have on hand because after studying photography for the past 5 years, I know it’s not really about the camera.img_0375

I asked this surfer if he was numb from being in this ice cold water for so long.  He said he was actually quite warm today.img_0378

And, I thought, yes!  I am quite warm today, too.  And, I no longer felt numb.  And, I thought of my three littles , again.img_0381

And, I realized how important it is to take care of my needs, too.  img_0384

That I’ll be a better mom if my own tank is full.img_0386

So, I will no longer apologize to my family for the time that my photography takes away from them.img_0388

Because, now I know as we continue our life’s journey, that it will give them back far more in return.  img_0389

Looking back, photography has always been my happy place.

img_0393

It has allowed me to savor some very special moments.img_0395

As I left the beach, I promised I would be back, as I always do.  But, I also promised myself that when my possibilities scare me more than they excite me, that I would find my happy place and breath and be grateful.img_0396

And then, I went home.  Happier.  Healthier. Readier to take on whatever possibilities are to come.  And, I even made it back to pick up the kids at school with plenty of time to spare.  img_0397

14 responses »

  1. The beach is my happy place also! Thank you I needed this today! Today is my dad’s birthday! I’ll have to try stopping and taking pictures more. I always wish i did when events are over. Reflection is a beautiful thing….. most of the time. Haha

    • Thank you, Mike! I know this doesn’t quite look like a burning building, but I appreciate your keen eye for looking out for a friend in need! Now these pictures will remind me of you, too!

  2. Thank you for posting these soothing photos, Amy. Coupled with your reflective musings in the essay, I could sense the peace you were feeling by the end of the work. Keep traveling on this path!

  3. Great blog and pictures Amy – they worked together seamlessly. I have been flirting with photography for some time and also have such a renewal when I take time to head out and “find some shots”. I usually find a lot more than some fun pics to edit! Thanks for the reminder. Take care — joe

  4. I loved reading this and sneaking off to the beach on a school day was a wonderful treat for you! Take care of yourself my dear friend & keep up the great work! 😘

  5. This was so beautiful! I love your photography and how you chose the pictures and meshed your thoughts. Just so thought provoking and gorgeous. Thank you!

Leave a comment